Burma’s unity government appointed Kachin individuals

The Kachin Post / April 17, 2021

Dr. Hkalen Tu Hkawng

The newly formed National Unity Government (NUG) of the Republic of Union of Burma has appointed three Kachin individuals as the Vice President, a Minister and a Deputy Minister yesterday.

Duwa Lashi La, the Chairman of the Kachin National Consultative Assembly (KNCA), became the Vice President, a Kachin political researcher Dr. Hkalen Tu Hkawng became the Minister of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation and Maran Ja Htoi Pan became the Deputy Minister of Education for the National Unity Government respectively.

Duwa Lashi La is a lawyer from Lashio of northern Shan State and currently serving as the Chairman of Kachin National Consultative Assembly, which has the most political mandate from the Kachin communities in Kachin and northern Shan State.

Dr. Hkalen Tu Hkawng is well known Kachin political researcher and analyst. He received a doctorate degree from Khon Kaen University in Thailand for social science and community development subject.  He is a former pastor of the Kachin Baptist Convention’s Shatapru Church in Myitkyina.

Maran Ja Htoi Pan

Maran Ja Htoi Pan is an educator and researcher at the Kachinland Research Centre. She previously serves as instructor of Social Science at School of Intensive English Programs (IEP) and the Director of Institute of Liberal Arts and Science. Maran Ja Htoi Pan received a Master degree from The London School of Economic for Social Anthology study and a Master degree from the Northern Illinois University for Anthropology.